Long Shadows

Since my son, Enrico, was born four years ago, this Josh Ritter song has been our song. I used to think this was part of my role in his life, to not be afraid when he is afraid. But the dark comes to us at all ages and times in life, and I’ve since found that sometimes it is because of Enrico that I can manage to not be afraid. And when the dark comes to my writing, as it has done more so lately, it actually exhilirates as much as it scares me. I love the video James Holland put with the song. This is truly a children’s song. And the scene he captures could easily be the sidewalk in front of our building in Brooklyn. Have a listen. I think it will uplift you as much as it does me.

3 comments

  1. Like many folks I find it hard at times to make room between my habits for something new to get in .
    I have heard Josh Ritter a number of times on the various Americana net radio stations I subscribe to. A lot of talent, a lot of enjoyment . But its the songs my veins and arteries know by heart that, like olfactory sense, kick in when a word or phrase associates with their lyrics .

    You mention Darkness
    and I hear Guy Clark’s
    “Rex’s Blues”

    “………Chained upon the face of time
    Feeling full of foolish rhyme
    There ain’t no dark ’til something shines
    I’m bound to leave this dark behind……….”

    So many unnoticed or understated phenomena
    reveal themselves and their true light only after the appearance of their antithesis.

    It is thoroughly amazing
    how children teach us so much. How much they reveal. How much maturity we attain by the presence of youth. I am certain that no matter what darkness may come, Enrico will always be light .

    Like

    1. So many unnoticed or understated phenomena reveal themselves and their true light only after the appearance of their antithesis.

      Tsvi- are these your words? They’re so powerful and true. It was you who made me meditate 4 years ago on Enrico’s middle name, Lucas, meaning of the light.

      Like

Leave a Reply

