PRESIDENT ELECT(ORAL COLLEGE)

Here we are, you and me.

Both of us in disbelief.

I can’t subscribe to #notmypresident. Not because I don’t feel that way. Because it sounds too much like not my problem. Assuming you do become our president, you will be my president and my problem.

I didn’t actually follow that you led the birther movement.

I don’t watch reality TV, I’ve never seen yours. ‘You’re fired’ only distantly rang a bell to me.

When you came on the scene as a candidate in the primaries, I was confused. Him, the hotel guy?

I never laughed at or mocked your candidacy though. Not because I’m above that. Because I was so confused, because I didn’t understand where you came from, your ascent. The disorientation I felt over you just wasn’t funny.

I feel a little responsible for your winning, for your not losing. I think a lot of us do. I regret I didn’t volunteer enough for Hillary. Didn’t send more than one small check. Didn’t stop being for Bernie.

But even more deeply, I feel there was something dangerous in how I turned my eyes away from the growth of my nation. The growth of the Apprentice. And a movement which surged with self-righteousness, insisting that President Barack Obama might not be a citizen. Why? Have you ever said why he might not be a citizen? I was too busy celebrating our advances and living my life to look at you. And maybe not looking at you caused you, the President Elect(oral College) to happen.

But, ultimately I reject the notion of my personal responsibility for you.

You will have an impact on my existence, but I did not and will not have an impact on your existence.

You’re very little. And this part is reassuring. There’s a universe and galaxies. There was a Big Bang, even if you deny it. There are black holes that stretch our solar system away from us into the mysterious abyss. There is a time and space continuum to contend with. Do you know how small you are in the universe? The District of Columbia itself is miniature, a few ugly Legos tacked together. The United States of America is like a plastic toy cowboy or businessman.

But you, President Elect(oral College), are an ant.

And yes, while ants can trail along with their friends, carrying 20 times their own weight, they just as often find themselves squashed under a toddler’s pointer finger, or drowned in a droplet of their spittle.

2 comments

  1. So well written
    my confused & not confused
    Rachel,

    but viewing Trump as something very small (we all are) in the cosmic scheme of things brings me little quiet or comfort. Knowing just how much significant damage one outrageous despot can create is very discomforting. A world leader with little common sense and no sense for the global common good of mankind is outright frightening. Trump is blinded by his maniacal need for attention. His call to overturn the cart i.e. all established order other than what profits him personally, is his rallying cry to the masses but serves only to buttress his own power. He surrounds himself with idiot yes men, cronies and family, anxious to please at any cost. His theories, conspiracy or otherwise, are anti policy and anti democratic. Trump’s utterances when they make sense are mostly hateful and fear mongering. There seems to be no end to the utter havoc he can thrust this planet into no matter how small a speck he is in the universe. I live far away from Trump Tower, far away from Washington and from Wisconsin and Florida and Utah. I am an expat Canadian ex US resident living in a cyclone between a desert and a sea, between one killing field and another. I can tune myself out from talk radio that even main stream radio seems to have become. I can block out the noise by listeing to Dylan radio or my own hand picked music stations but I can’t diminish the significance of this election outcome nor its cause. My seeming distance from the storm presents little protection from its force. I can’t pretend that Trump is small and by default Trumpisim as well. It is our sense of superiority and ignorance born in a bubble and perpetuated by our heads buried in sand that allowed us to not pay attention to the warning signs of a slumbering catastrophe that in turn is beginning to awaken. If we down size the magnitude of Trump in our universe we might well find ourselves not only with our heads buried but ourselves in our entirety completely consumed in an inescapable quicksand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for this deep and intelligent response. I completely agree with you on not minimizing or diminishing Trump’s reach. Although I don’t think he’ll have unlimited power. The position of US President is quite limited and hampered, thankfully in this case. I saw my letter/poem as hopefully the start of a series, capturing some of my reactions to our catastrophic election chronologically. It’s funny- I wrote originally that I am as small cosmically, as we all are, but it kind of made the poem’s ending fall apart. Thanks again for writing- my fellow poet and human being.

      Like

Leave a Reply

